Print

From Céline to sr Marie of the Sacred Heart - June 27, 1889.

From Céline to Sister Marie of the Sacred Heart. 27th June 1889.

27th June 89.

Dear little Marie,

Did you know that little Céline has been thinking about your feast day for a long while (Feast of the Sacred Heart, Friday 28th)? Alas! It is much less cheerful than it used to be! Where are those days that brought us such sweet joys!...

They are long, long gone, our lives are becoming bitterer and bitterer, the words our dear Father used to often say are true: “In exile there is nothing but tears [1v°] and sad thoughts… O the Fatherland! the Fatherland!! How beautiful the Fatherland is…” I can still hear the sound of this beloved voice saying the profound sentences upon which his heart would meditate for whole days. More recently Papa was in an even more meditative state of mind, I would surprise him in his belvedere looking into the distance. Sometimes his eyes would fill up with tears and I would smother him with caresses…

Those sweet days are gone! Dear little Marie, our memories do not resemble other people’s, ours have an indescribable depth, something like a melody from a land of exile. Our memories have the effect of a smooth and melancholy tune on me, like a dove’s whimper. Oh! I can’t tell you, dear little Sister, everything I feel, my eyes and heart never cease to plunge into infinity. I think we must work arduously; Jesus enjoys creating immense empty spaces around us to such an extent that our souls can no [2v°] longer attach themselves to anything here below. Darling little sister, if only you knew how empty I feel… there’s an empty space so big I can’t describe it. O Heaven!... fifty years from now how we will rejoice to have suffered, how we will not wish to exchange our places with anyone, how we’ll no longer think of those who bustle restlessly on this earth after we’re gone. What a happy moment it will be!

My dear little Marie we’ll soon see heaven, it is there that we will joyfully celebrate. How glorified Papa will be!

Let us rejoice in suffering, the Father says so. (Fr. Pichon)

Your little Céline who loves you.

Léonie wishes you a happy feast day.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Céline à sœur Marie du Sacré-Cœur - 27 juin 1889.

 

De Céline à sœur Marie du Sacré-Cœur. 27 juin 1889.

 

27 Juin 89.

Ma chère petite Marie,

Sais-tu que la petite Céline pense depuis longtemps à ta fête (Fête du Sacré-Cœur, vendredi 28) ? Hélas ! elle est bien moins gaie qu'autrefois ! Où est le temps qui nous apportait de si douces joies ! .....

Il est loin, bien loin, de plus en plus notre vie devient amère, elles sont vraies les paroles que nous redisait souvent notre cher petit Père : « Pour l'exilé il n'est que pleurs [1v°l et que tristes pensées... Ô la Patrie ! la Patrie! ! Elle est donc bien belle ta Patrie.... » J'entends encore le son de cette voix si aimée nous redisant les sentences profondes que son coeur méditait des journées entières. Dans les derniers temps Papa avait l’esprit encore plus méditatif, je le surprenais dans son belvédère regardant dans le lointain, parfois ses yeux se remplissaient de larmes et moi je le comblais de caresses .....

Ce temps si doux il est passé ! Chère petite Marie, nous n'avons pas de [2r°1 souvenirs comme d'autres, les nôtres ont une profondeur indicible, quelque chose comme une mélodie d'exilé. Nos souvenirs à nous me font l'effet d'une musique suave et mélancolique, un gémissement de colombe. Oh ! je ne puis te dire, chère petite Sœur, tout ce que j'éprouve, mes yeux et mon coeur ne cessent de plonger dans l'infini. Je pense que nous devons travailler avec ardeur, Jésus se plaît à creuser des vides immenses autour de nous si bien que notre âme ne [2v°l peut plus s'attacher à rien ici-bas Petite sœur chérie, si tu savais comme je sens le vide… un vide si grand que je ne pourrais te l'expliquer. O le Ciel !... dans cinquante ans d'ici comme nous nous réjouirons d'avoir souffert, comme nous n'échangerons pas notre place pour d'autres, comme nous ne penserons plus à ceux qui s'agiteront après nous sur cette terre. Heureux moment !

Ma chère petite Marie à bientôt le ciel, c'est là que nous fêterons joyeusement. Comme Papa sera glorifié !

Réjouissons-nous de souffrir, c'est le Père qui le dit. (Le P. Pichon)

Ta petite Céline qui t'aime.

Léonie te souhaite une bonne fête.

 

 

Retour à la liste des correspondants