Print

From Céline to Jeanne La Néele - February 23, 1893.

From Céline to Jeanne La Néele - February 23, 1893.

23rd February 1893.

Darling little Jeanne,

I’ve come to wish you a happy birthday, too, and Léonie requested my hospitality so that she in turn could come and offer you her best wishes. Anyway, you’ll see what she says; I’m only taking care of what concerns me! Let’s quickly proceed to our little chat so that it can be a long one.

Can you remember our childhood, little sister, when we were both at boarding school and I would ask you such naïve questions because you knew everything?...

Ah! It was because I considered you my elder, you seemed to be a fountain [1 v°] of knowledge to me, and since then you have only grown in my eyes. At present, there is still the same difference between us; it is a difference that is as big as our lives as children and young girls were closely linked. So the difference grows as our destinies unfold; we no longer eat at the same table, we no longer sleep under the same roof. It is while attaining heaven with your incomparable Francis that you reach your twenty-fifth birthday. I myself hope to see my twenty-fifth birthday and beyond while surrounding my dear Father’s white hair with veneration. Such is life… Sometimes birds from the same nest have a special vocation, but this new hue, which is cast on their existence and is at times so different, is only one more bond of affection. For absence makes friends grow dearer by colouring memories… whatever we do, whatever the road we follow, all paths lead to heaven, which is life’s goal. We are always, whether we like it or not, moving towards this unique goal. Dear little sister, let’s run very quickly so that we arrive very quickly, I don’t say “very soon” because I wish you a long life with your dear Francis; another 3 times 25 years at least, and also descendants worthy of their ancestors!.........

But let’s run together in faith and trust, especially trust, despite life’s difficulties, in spite of everything! From time to time, [2 v°] were we to live another 3 times 25 years and even were earth’s oceans to separate us, we will make little signs to each other. For one of us mustn’t become more saintly than the other, we have to be united with each other again up above. The difference in our paths doesn’t mean anything in relation to the goal.

Little sister, I will leave you now to leave room for Léonie who would scold me otherwise. You will perhaps be surprised at my language. It’s because this week has been very moving; Pauline’s election proved to me once more the extent to which God looks after his own and exalts them after trials. – Give Francis lots of love from me and accept big kisses from your little Céline.

Back to the list

Imprimer

De Céline à Jeanne La Néele - 23 février 1893.

 

De Céline à Jeanne La Néele. 23 février 1893. 

23 Février 1893.

Ma petite Jeanne chérie,

Je viens moi aussi te souhaiter un bon anniversaire et Léonie m'a demandé l'hospitalité  afin de venir à son tour t'offrir ses meilleurs vœux. Du reste tu vas voir ce qu'elle va te dire, je ne m'occupe que de moi ! Procédons vite à notre petite causerie afin d'en dire bien long.

Te rappelles-tu, petite sœur, le temps de notre enfance alors que toutes deux nous [étions] à la pension et que je te faisais des questions si naïves à toi qui savais tout ?...

Ah ! c'est que je te regardais comme mon aînée, tu me semblais un puits [1 v°] de science, et depuis tu n'as fait que grandir à mes yeux. A présent il y a bien toujours la même différence entre nous, différence d'autant plus grande que notre vie d'enfant, notre vie de jeune fille a été étroitement liée, la différence s'accentue donc avec nos destinées, nous ne mangerons plus à la même table, nous ne coucherons plus sous le même toit. C'est en gagnant le ciel avec ton incomparable Francis que tu atteins tes vingt-cinq ans, moi je verrai, j'espère, mes vingt-cinq ans et plus en entourant de vénération les cheveux blancs de mon cher petit Père. Ainsi la vie... Il arrive que les oiseaux sortis du même nid ont cependant une vocation spéciale, mais cette teinte nouvelle jetée [2 r°] sur leur existence, teinte parfois si différente n'est qu'un lien de plus à l'affection, car l'absence rend les amis plus chers en colorant les souvenirs... quoi que nous fassions, quelle que soit la route que nous suivions tout chemin mène au ciel, c'est là le but de la vie ; toujours, que nous le voulions ou non, nous avançons vers ce but unique. Chère petite sœur, courons bien fort pour arriver bien vite je ne dis pas « bien tôt » car je souhaite une longue vie avec ton cher Francis ; encore 3 fois 25 ans au moins, puis une lignée digne de leurs ancêtres !.........

Mais courons ensemble avec courage foi et confiance, confiance surtout malgré les difficultés de la vie, en dépit de tout ! De temps en temps [2 v°] dussions-nous vivre 3 fois 25 ans encore et quand même les océans de cette terre nous sépareraient nous nous ferons de petits signaux. Car il ne faut pas qu'une de nous deux soit plus sainte que l'autre, il faut que nous nous retrouvions là-haut l'une auprès de l'autre. La différence des routes ne signifie rien au but.

Petite sœur, je te quitte pour laisser place à Léonie qui me gronderait. Peut-être vas-tu être surprise de mon langage. C'est que cette semaine j'ai été émue, l'élection de Pauline m'a prouvé une fois de plus, combien le bon Dieu s'occupe des siens et comment après l'épreuve il sait les exalter. — Embrasse fort pour moi notre bon Francis et reçois les meilleurs baisers de ta petite Céline. 
 

Retour à la liste des correspondants